This page is long, please scroll down to see all of it.
OVERVIEW OF THE MUSEUM AND DISPLAYS
The Grundy County Museum is composed of three physical facilities, the Main Museum Building, the Baker School Building, and the Annex Building remodeled in 2007. All the Museum buildings are in close proximity and face Tinsman Avenue. Another Historical Building in Grundy County area is the Thompson House.
Ground Floor - lower level
The three-level Main Museum Building was built in 1895 by William McVay where several businesses sold feed, seed, hardware, buggies, and farm equipment. The building was donated to the Grundy County Historical Society in 1974 by Bert and Rose Hoover, dedicated as a museum in 1976, and remodeled in 1981-85.
The Main Museum building features three floors of items and displays reflecting the history and heritage of Grundy County and the activities and achievements of the county's citizens.
First Floor - Middle Level
The second floor (upper level) features a Children's Exhibit designed to convey to today's youth the kind of childhood their grand- great-grandparents experienced. This is a great starter for multi-generational discussions.
THE BAKER SCHOOL BUILDING
The Baker School Building, Grundy County School #49, was closed in 1956 and moved to its present location in 1995. Baker School, Grundy County's last remaining one-room school, has been totally restored with period furniture and teaching equipment. This school building is a favorite site for many school trips where both teachers and students can step back in time and experience the atmosphere of our rural school heritage where the curriculum was reading, writing, and arithmetic and no child was left behind because they were all in the same room.
Acquisition of the Annex Building, formerly known as the Barton Building, was made possible by a donation from Nick and Cherri McHargue. This landmark flat iron building is unique by its shape and the variety of businesses that have occupied this century old historic site. The military collection is now located in the south room of the Annex Building.
An Oil Painting of the Thompson House by Lucille Power
The home, built in 1834 by William and Sallie Thompson, is the first permanent residence of a Caucasian family in Grundy County. William Thompson served the citizens of the area as a medical doctor and a judge of the county court. Before moving to Missouri he was elected as a legislator in Virginia and served as a Brigadier General during the War of 1812.
The Thompson House Today
One hundred and eighty years have taken their toll on the once stately Thompson House. The house is now owned by The Friends of the Thompson House. Visit the Friends of the Thompson House website for more information.